Award Ceremony of the Eduard Rhein Award

Awardees 2023

Upon unanimous proposals of the Board of Trustees and the Jury, the Board decided to award Prof. Gilles Brassard, Ph.D. and Mr. Charles H. Bennett, Ph.D. with the Technology Award 2023 as well as Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius with the Culture Award 2023 of the EDUARD RHEIN FOUNDATION. The Ring of Honour is awarded to Univ.-Prof. Prof. h.c. Prof. cs. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. Ulrich Walter.

The technology award is endowed with Euro 40,000,
the cultural award with Euro 10,000.

Ring of Honor

Univ.-Prof. Prof. h.c. Prof. cs. Dr. rer. nat. Dr. h.c. Ulrich Walter

For his tireless commitment, as an astronaut and holder of the Chair of Astronautics at the Technical University of Munich, to awakening a fascination for scientific and technical knowledge in society

read more

Technology Award

Gilles Brassard
Prof. Gilles Brassard, Ph.D.
Charles H. Bennett
Charles H. Bennett, Ph.D.

For the conception of the first key agreement protocol whose security is derived from the validity of quantum physics

Writing is a very powerful means for the distribution of information to many people and over large distances, and for preserving the knowledge over time. Creating a network of potential readers was a primary challenge at the beginning. As literacy increased, the need to limit the access to information to selected readers developed. Julius Cesar […]

read more

Cultural Award

Prof. Antje Boetius, zukünftige wissenschaftliche Direktorin des Alfred-Wegener-Instituts, Helmholtz-Zentrum für Polar- und Meeresforschung
Prof. Dr. Antje Boetius

For achievements in academic research and teaching, her commitment to communicating policy and science, and her outstanding role in communicating science to the general public

Antje Boetius is a marine biologist and professor of geomicrobiology at the University of Bremen. Since November 2017, she has headed the Alfred Wegener Institute in Bremerhaven and leads the research group “Microbial Habitats” at the Max Planck Institute for Marine Microbiology, where the first “meta-eaters” were discovered. She has worked as a leader of […]

read more

Young People Award

Bundeswettbewerb Jugend forscht  2023 in Bremen     Nutzung honorarfrei
Jakob Zöphel

Konrad-Zuse-Youth Prize for Computer Science of the Eduard Rhein Foundation: Electronical Nose

The human nose is a marvel of nature. Experts estimate that it can distinguish between billions and billions of scents. However, it is not able to smell all odors and gases. This is where Jakob Zöphel’s research project came in. He developed a kind of electronic nose by interconnecting 17 different gas sensors and integrating […]


Matthias Fuchs
Matthias Fuchs

Eduard Rhein Youth Award for Radio, Television and Information Technology: Software analyses walking movement

Some clinics and medical supply stores have a so-called gait lab. Here, patients walk on a special mat while sensors and cameras record their individual walking movements. Afterwards, software analyzes the gait and provides information on suitable shoe inserts, for example. However, such gait labs are expensive, which is why Matthias Fuchs decided to develop […]